Sci Fi Sunday

Currently Reading:

One Grave at a Time: A Night Huntress Novel

One Grave at a Time, by Jeaniene Frost, the sixth book in the Cat and Bones series. Catherine is a part-vamp who makes a living staking full-blooded vampires until she realizes the bad guys aren’t the ones with fangs. Bones is the vampire who teaches her to fight and becomes her partner, and eventually something more.

Ok, this is the sixth book in a series. It’s like second verse, same as the first. There were relatively few surprises here, and we all know that when it comes to series, surprises are BAD. Surprises mean that the author kills off a good character, or something awful and irredeemable happens. Otherwise, reading series books is a bit like watching Star Trek:TNG — there will be drama, but Picard always works things out in the end. There is literally nothing I can tell you about this book that will make sense unless you’ve read books 1 through 5. Which I do recommend by the way; the first book is Halfway to the Grave. Because Cat is halfway a vampire, get it? Yeah, and Bones totally looks like David Boreanz. Ok, I don’t know that for sure but I’m unable to picture him as anyone other than David Boreanz.

Anyhow, if you like paranormal romance that’s a bit heavy on the bloody action, then this series will be right up your alley. Standard disclaimers apply.

Currently Watching:

A Firefly marathon on SCIHD. “This must be what going mad feels like.” Ahaha, I love Firefly.

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Sci-Fi Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for introducing me to what is sure to be my next obsession. If my boyfriend wanders over hear looking for me, tell him I’m reading, would you?

  2. Like 8 times in two days, people used some variant on Pax. It was sooooo hard.

  3. Ah, Firefly… I’ve had an itch to rewatch that lately.

    • I own the whole series plus the movie and somehow don’t rematch it all that often. To be fair, I have trouble keeping up with my DVR and my Netflix queue. I need to pick up a debilitating, bedridden illness. Well, that or stop watching so much TV. 🙂

Leave a Reply

