Sci Fi Sunday — Teen Fiction Edition

Anybody noticed that we’re experiencing a new boom in Young Adult fiction? They have their own section at Barnes and Noble now. So much for all the oldsters complaining that books are going out of style.  Ha!

Currently Reading:

The Hunger Games

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Oldest read this series last year and really liked it (he bought Mockingjay in hardback because he couldn’t wait to get it from the library). However, he said he wasn’t satisfied with the ending so I was discouraged from beginning the books myself. Enter my book club who voted on this book for January.  Let me just say here…I love my book group and have been introduced to much good literature through them, but they also made me read Twilight. I spend as much time annoyed by their choices as I do reading.

The Hunger Games is dystopian fiction at its finest. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the book and couldn’t put it down. Never mind the YA label, this is futuristic fiction worth reading. Collins goes for the jugular; she never shies away from violence, her characters are multi-dimensional and she avoids overly optimistic conclusions. Katniss is a young teen in a post-apocalyptic world who becomes a candidate for her district in the Hunger Games. Winners get a house and prizes, as well as acclaim for their district, while losers die. There were many moments in the book where I thought I could tell what would happen next, but Collins surprised me every time. For those of you who like movie tie-ins, the movie will be coming out in March and there are trailers online if you’ve read the book and are curious about the film. I strongly recommend The Hunger Games for eleven and up, although I will add a warning that you will want to continue the series. I’m now reading Catching Fire, to be followed by Mockingjay. DO NOT TELL ME WHAT HAPPENS, or I will throw a knife at you. May the odds be ever in your favor!

Posted on January 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. LOVED this series. I kind of don’t want to see the movie in March because I have such vivid images in my mind of the characters and landscape.

  2. Ok, I wasn’t going to give in to this series- but I’ve agreed with all your other reviews, so I might have to try this, too!

  3. I actually have this book sitting on my desk at home as my next read. I picked a different book instead of it because I had just finished The Eyre Affair (loved!), and wanted something a little less fantastical after that, so I picked a more serious tome. I regret it. Everyone is talking about this book right now and I am so desperate to read it, I’ve even considered stopping the book I am reading (gasp!), and just reading The Hunger Games instead. That is blasphemy for me, so I probably won’t, but it seems like it is taking me forever to get through this one and I can’t wait to read THG. Grrr. Glad you enjoyed it, though. I have heard nothing but good things about it. I still will never read anything by that hack Stephanie Meyers.

  4. Read it, loved it, but I don’t know if I can see the movie. Somehow I can handle violence in books more easily than I can handle violence in movies. Plus, in the books, Katniss is so emotionally reticent, she helps protect me from the melodrama of the story and the other characters.

  5. I haven’t read this yet, but it’s on my list. I’ve heard only good things about it, and I need to read it before the movies comes out.

Leave a Reply

