The Year In Review! Also, Music!

Never let it be said that I’m not one to jump on the bandwagon. Actually, I’m so late in picking up trends I tend to jump after the wagon has already left the yard. Whatever, everybody is doing a year-end wrap-up and so am I. More accurately, it’s an April-to-December wrap-up since that’s how long this blog has been in existence. Whoa. I had no idea what I was starting here.

On the sewing front, I made almost 35 garments. I haven’t quite finished this one:

Pirate dress!

A hem and a zipper are needed still; hopefully I’ll get it done over the weekend.

Out of the other garments, I had 5 that didn’t work out — and I blogged about them anyway because who wants to hear about some perfect person who never makes mistakes? BOR-ING. On the flip side, I had quite a few items that became regulars in my closet. My favorite makes this year were:

Black shorts

Back in Black skirt

Vippy Bunny shirt

Army skirt

Skull purse/backpack

Goth fly-front skirt

I’m quite proud that I mostly accomplished my goals of sewing at least one new thing per week, learning to work with knits, perfecting fly fronts and waistbands, and working through some of my fitting issues.

I also posted 29 music videos, covering everything from rock to pop to folk and managing to squeeze in some Animaniacs and classical along the way. On Sci Fi Sunday (and occasionally, Monday) I reviewed 22 books, 1 movie and 12 TV shows — as well as recommending a few other TV shows in the Eye Candy and Girls, Girls, Girls posts. So I guess we know I watch way too much TV.

I wrote posts about running, dental work, and cleaning things. I terrorized an old lady for a sweater, explored the upper limits of fatigue, categorized the ways my cat wakes me up, and explained Alice Cooper. I listed the top ten things I’ve learned about the future from watching Star Trek, as well as pondering Playgirl, Storage Wars and the expression, “colder than a witch’s tit.”  I’ve learned a lot about myself, and I’ve made some truly awesome friends. Thanks for coming with me on this journey, guys. I think of you everyday and none of this would be the same without you. I’ll be adding some of you newer commentators to the blogroll this weekend!

Since it’s Friday and I’ve had this song stuck in my head for the past two days, let me infect you with this:

How much do I love her hair and makeup? SO MUCH.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Friday Headbanging, my weird sense of humor. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Luv the pirate dress, It looks ready to go, Savy? (the limit of my Johnny Depp impersonation)

  2. Great dress, it’s a fantastic print.
    Love the video, I’m not sure I’ve ever thougth this, but she has great eyebrows. I have expected the guys dancing to start vogueing for some reason.
    Nice wrap up for the year, it’s been a pleasure following along.

    • I did expect some vogueing too — I’ve read that this song is her homage to Madonna, so I was thinking the dancers would break into the Madonna moves any minute.

      Her eyebrows are the bomb. I love the super-short bangs too, but I’ve tried them before and they look odd on me. Strictly for people with short foreheads, I think.

  3. For some odd reason, I never saw this post, although I got the one before and one after. Weird.

    Anyway, good job for your accomplishments over this blogging year. I did NOT do a year end wrap up. I’m a rebel like that, yo! 🙂 But I feel the same . . . I have really loved having my blog and being able to meet all these amazing people through blogging. I’m not sure how much I’ve learned throughout, but it’s definitely been a positive experience.

    Here’s to a fun and educational 2012. Woo-hoo!

    • Woo-hoo indeed! I’m amazed I’ve stayed the course with this. The comments from the blogosphere are great incentives (and now I have to slink away in shame because I actually used the word “blogosphere”).

Leave a Reply

