Here She Is…Dum Da Dum

It should be obvious, I have no idea how the Miss America song goes. Feel free to hum in the comments, if you’re so inclined! Never mind, here’s the proud owner of that pressure foot knob:

Brother Pacesetter 2340CV Cover Hem Stitch Machine

This was my big gift for Christmas, the only thing I asked for (with pictures)! I was still pretty shocked to get it, given the price. It does professional hems, chain hems and those fancy serged seams on casual knits. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to get it set up yet, given that the youngsters have been home and underfoot all week. People who calculate the cost of Christmas always forget to include entertaining in their equations.

Total cost of taking three people to the movies: $55

Total cost of taking four people ice skating with friends: $44

Total cost of all the resulting memories: priceless.

Now I have to go flop my middle-aged carcass into bed because ice skating for two hours is a SERIOUS WORKOUT, peeps. I feel like I’ve been beaten with bamboo by a particularly cranky Russian masseuse.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in my weird sense of humor, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. The last time I ice-skated I was so sore the next day I thought I would literally die. What is it about that motion that uses muscles that we use for absolutely nothing else? Hot bath and Icy Hot, my dear!

  2. How very pretty, that’s a pretty awesome gift. I’m looking forward to seeing it in action.

    Skating, tobogganing, all very painful. I don’t remember it hurting as a kid. I’m seconding hoodyhoo’s suggestion of a bath, epsom salts are your friend.

  3. I am home with the wee ones today, and can I just tell you how much I am looking forward to when they go back to school on Monday! Um, I mean…..quality family time…..yay.

    Looks like a fun toy. You obviously were a very good girl! Have fun playing once you get a chance.

  4. Wow, see how behind I am on commenting? I didn’t even manage to express my extreme envy on this beauty! I am jealous. Green-eyed-monster, evil stepsister jealous. You are totally lucky you live very far away. And not just because of the weather. Congratulations!

  5. I am embarrassed to admit it, but. . .I never learned to use a sewing machine. ((shame spiral)) Maybe ought to make that a 2012 resolution.

    • Well, the only way it saves you money is if your short people get into Scouts. In which case, you NEED a sewing machine. The amount they charge per patch sewn on is a serious racket — I can’t even count how much I’ve saved attaching uniform parts and taking up the pants.

Leave a Reply

