She Blinded Me With Sweats

For some reason, I seem to have acquired a lot of foil-stamped French terry. I don’t really know why I allow this fabric to follow me home. It’s not like I buy a lot of ghetto fantastic things in ready-to-wear. I mean, French terry is not goth. It is not punk. It is certainly not (insert hysterical laughter here) industrial. The only fashion niche it fills is the one called “Jersey Shore,” which most of us are usually trying to avoid.

Be that as it may, I decided to test Burda 8042 in a particularly painful black print. Here is the pattern:

Burda 8042. I made View A, on the left.

And the eye-searing result:

It doesn't look half bad on my dress form.

Trust me, the low light in that corner is hiding the brilliance that comes out when the foil print flashes. It’s…stunning. I mean that literally, I might stun someone if I wore this outside.

A couple of notes about the pattern:

1) I measure as a 12 but after comparing this to my favorite t-shirt pattern, I cut a 14. I’m really glad I did, as French terry does not have a lot of give and this hoodie is slim-fitting.

2) The bottom hem is supposed to be two inches deep. I changed it to a scant 5/8″ to get a better fit (no surprise on my long torso), but that was also the only way I could get the 20″ zipper to fit on this hoodie. So if you sewed the hem as recommended, the zipper would be too long. The buckling and bad position of the zip is entirely my fault, not that of the pattern. When I make this again, I’ll lengthen the body to allow for both a better fit and a deeper hem.

This is a pretty comfortable hoodie, and even with it’s blinding properties I might wear it out and about. In case you’re wondering what the print looks like close up:

Mini silver foil crowns on black

I promise to draw the line at Bump-its and orangey fake tan.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in my weird sense of humor, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Not sure what it says about me, but I like it. A lot.

  2. yeah, those pirate remnants can’t get to you soon enough!

  3. Yeah, I’m with Debbie, I like it. Although we aren’t getting the full impact of the silver foil. From a distance it looks like polka dots and I’m a fan of dots.

    Now the upside down crowns don’t look much like crowns to me. The loops of the crown look like eyes and skull like cheeks, the circle of the brim looks like a little fez hat and the tip of the crown looks like a small nose and mouth. So maybe you’ll feel more subcultural feeling like you have skulls with fez hats on your shirts that happen to look like crowns when upside down. 😉

  4. It’s adorable. I like it. Does that make me a bad person?

    I think you should have done the one in the top right. And whenever you wore it, you would have to do that Sassy pose!! 🙂

  5. You know, I love how you can pull a questionable fabric and make it work so well- you should be in some sort of competition where they throw random oddities at you and you make them cool.

    • Yeah, Andi, why aren’t you on Project Runway, yet? They throw the most odd things at the designers on that show. Have you ever thought about it?

    • Project Runway? Hahaha. I don’t think I can make a dress from corn husks.

      Actually, I thought about it but two things: They make you leave your family and everybody for like, 6 weeks and I have NO idea how that would work with my life. My house might not be standing after 6 weeks. Also, they drape like a bunch of mofos. No patterns for these people, it’s cut, wrap, sew! I do not think in “drape” very well. Need to take a pattern drafting course (or three).

  6. Clearly the camera is picking up the shininess bec. I like it too! The full pic looks kind of like polka-dots (cool 🙂 & the close-up of the little crowns is cute. Maybe a pic of you wearing it with matching sweatpants, a fake Chanel bag, a bunch of gold jewelry, & a fake tan?

  7. The crowns kind of look like shocked clowns and sad clowns. I hope that makes it easier to wear the hoodie.

  8. Oh my goodness, you’re hilarious! Well I think your hoody turned out great, but definitely avoid the orangey tan lol.

  9. I LOVE it. Can you make one for everybody?

  1. Pingback: Me-Made-May and Other Good Things Not Beginning with M « lazysubculturalgirl

Leave a Reply

