It’s What’s On The Inside That Counts

I lined something! I mean, I did a honest-to-goodness lining on Simplicity 4420:

I haven't changed my poor dress form to reflect my current shape, so everything is a bit saggy.

It was pretty straightforward — I knew I didn’t want the lining to conflict with the ruffle at the bottom, so I just extended the middle section’s A-line shape for another four inches. Attached it to the yoke, stitched in the ditch and ta da! I still have to hem the skirt and hand stitch the lining to the zipper, but I’m on the home stretch.

Anyone else having a hard time finishing stuff? I’m not motivated to sew much right now, with all the holiday hustle and bustle. I think part of it is because I’m struggling with a need to push my horizons again (try a challenging project, pick up some new skills) but the reality is, I just don’t have time. In fact, tomorrow I have the school’s Winter Concert for both Oldest and Middlest. Then Oldest leaves for a Scout campout Friday afternoon, which is going to necessitate some frantic Thursday prep, and our weekend is full socially. That’s without including decorating a tree, putting up lights, getting the cards done, etc. which I’d like to achieve before Santa’s sleigh actually touches down on the damn roof.

Maybe it’s time to make some muslins, which combine the fun of sewing with the relief of not having to do anything well. I considered doing a month of working with knits, but I’m a disaster at theme sewing (hello, short attention spa– oh hey! a squirrel!).

So anyway, I thought I’d do a poll on what you all would like to see here during December, while I’m hopelessly addled:

1) Sewing only, even if that means one post per week

2) Updates on what I’m doing, sewing-wise and otherwise

3) Posts in which I attempt to be funny

4) More gratuitous photos of sci fi hotties

5) What are you talking about, it’s all drivel — go make me a sandwich

6) All of the above, especially the drivel

Let me know in the comments!

Speaking of drivel, let me introduce you to the best cat toy ever:

Recognize this?

It’s a scrap left over from my owl shirt. In the last three days, I have found it in the shower, on the stairs, in my bedroom and in the bathroom. I have no idea what the cats are doing with it. Capture the flag? Rhythmic gymnastics? A spot of dusting? Whenever I walk into the room, this is what they are doing:

Crystal is the one glaring at the camera, while Lila is perfecting her trademark Adorable Nap.

Yeah, those faces are totally innocent.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in my weird sense of humor, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I vote for all of the above, bring the drivel! Does the owl scrap smell of chloroform ….my cats are intrinsically evil….be careful…..

  2. Another vote for all of the above!

  3. Chalk up another one for all of the above — keep us on our toes!

  4. All of the above! I like it all. And in the midst of craziness, isn’t it nice to have an outlet?

  5. Also all of the above. But I have to admit, tho I started coming for the sewing, I keep coming back for the humor. So if it makes you feel better to write funny things about life, please know that it makes me feel better to read them.

  6. Since I hate to be a joiner, I say no to all of the above (it’s the holiday, who has time for all that crap?). Just give us the funny. Oh, and some drivel on the side. That will make me happy. Give yourself a break from the sewing and/or reporting on it. This is the busy time of the year.

    Oh, and the skirt looks great. Good for you.

    And I don’t know what you are talking about . . . those kittehs look completely innocent to me. Have you checked on your boys? They might be the likely culprits.

    • I can always come up with more drivel. It’s in plentiful supply around here.

      The kids do not play with my fabric scraps. Walk on them, sure, but carry them around? Puh-leez. It’s gotta be the kitties. Either that, or the Hubs has developed some new and disturbing hobby.

  7. Your skirt is lovely, and how have I been missing out on what’s going on over here. I tried to take up sewing once. I may or may not have a $200 surger still in the box… it’s a ummm… work in progress… PS not too late to bribe me for the Ms Wag The Dad Contest

Leave a Reply

