Progress of a Sort

Today, I cleaned out the closet — one large bag full of clothes went to the Salvation Army. That leaves one bag to give to friends and one bag of refashion-potential clothing.

I mentioned that I’ve been working on something and here it is:

I got the pattern from this book — remember Custom Couture?

I’m going to be using the designs in the book to revamp some clothes. I still need to finish the embroidery on the white shirt, and that’s not all. I have:

7 short sleeve shirts

1 long sleeve shirt

and 2 sweaters

that need some work. On the plus side, I can do a lot of the hand-sewing in front of the TV. On the negative side, a design this elaborate takes a couple days to stitch.

I still need some bottoms, but I laid out a cargo pant pattern today and realized that I only have enough fabric in denim (which I think looks odd in a cargo style) and military camo, which I don’t want to use in a cargo pant because it’ll look too realistic. I live in an area with a lot of military personnel, and I feel weird about wearing anything that might be mistaken for a uniform, even though I’m pretty sure this fabric design is not the same as any of the armed forces approved prints. Better to save it for a cute jacket or skirt.

I also need a new purse/bag/backpack but after looking at my patterns and fabric stash, I’m thinking I might just buy one.

We’re currently watching a Sanctuary marathon on Chiller network, which is hugely promoting a movie tomorrow night called “Zombie Women of Satan.” Query: who watches these things and why, aside from the bikinis and blood? Did I just answer my own question?

Posted on September 27, 2011, in my weird sense of humor, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have to confess — I watch those movies. THEY ARE CRAP, but it’s like a car wreck, I can’t look away!

  2. Recently Netflix emailed me and asked if the picture quality on ‘Nymphoid Barbarians in Dinosaur Hell’ was standard or high…..

    • “We’re not judging you, we just want to know if the picture quality was good. Really, we promise!”

      What is the difference between standard or high quality anyway? If I notice the quality, it’s bad. If I don’t, it’s not….

      • I assumed a cinematic classic like this couldn’t POSSIBLY be below high quality…..but if I say low- will they buy us a better tv with which to view such crap?

  3. Sigh. My husbands birthday is Monday. You know what he wanted for a party? Shitty movie night. This is a semi regular event that we host, we watch things like Giant Shark vs Mega Octopus (bonus, it has Debbie Gibson in it, yes, the 80’s Debbie Gibson), Zombies! (the Italian fake follow up to Night of the Living Dead that has zombie-shark wrestling) or The Killing of Satan (quality cinema from the Phillipines). I have no idea what is on the agenda for Saturday night, but I know I will have no interest in any of it, but I will take snacks down to them, refill some drinks, and likely be sucked into watching half a movie. All of it if there are sharks.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your refashioning. I’m afraid I don’t have much imagination for it so I like looking at what others do.

    • The Syfy movie I remember was Mega Python vs. Gatoroid, which I kept thinking was Gatorade and led to a really bizarre discussion which culminated with the Hubs yelling, “How would YOU deal with your Mega Python problem??” and I was saying, “Well, grenades? Flamethrowers? I’m thinking something with distance?”

      That one, if I’m not mistaken, starred both Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. Mudwrestling? Food fighting? I forget. You’ll probably want to add it to the movie night lineup.

      I have no imagination with refashioning either. I find it easier to start from scratch, hence the use of the book to help me with the bits and pieces.

  4. I’m not sure what techniques that book covers–is it about altering clothing to change the fit/shape? I’m enamored of this concept.

    I recently bought a vintage Guns N Roses t shirt (okay, not the most fashion forward item, I know–but cut me some slack here). Of course, it’s a concert t-shirt, and it’s big. I’m only a buck ten in stature. So…I’m thinking of just trimming that thing down to fit like a modern girly tee. If I do this succcessfully, it will open up new worlds for me. I often have things that are “not quite right”, but I’ve been afraid of altering.

    Long story short–I could use a few “altering” tricks, so if you know a good book or wite–let me know!?

Leave a Reply

