Alice Cooper 101 and Other Things You Should Know

Lately, I’ve been hanging around Noa of Oh, Noa fame and we discovered there is a serious dearth of Alice Cooper information out there.  As in, we both had the experience of making a reference to Alice Cooper, and the person we were speaking to assumed A.C. was a girl.

Hmm.  This does not bode well for the future of humanity.

So, a quick Alice Cooper primer:

1. Alice Cooper is not a girl.

2. He is a shock metal rocker who started out as a band in the 70s, went solo in ’75 and has pretty much performed and recorded incessantly since then. He’s known as the person who brought horror imagery to rock music (bet you thought it was Ozzy Osbourne — nope).  Without his influence, there would be no Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, or the Sex Pistols.  The original Alice Cooper band was recently inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

3. Best known songs are I’m Eighteen (from the original Alice Cooper band) and School’s Out.

4. He’s had a small film career, including a number of cameos in horror movies and an appearance as himself in Wayne’s World. He has also DJ’d for a popular classic rock station.

There ya go. Now when old farts such as myself refer to Alice Cooper, you can contribute to the conversation. Don’t all fall over yourselves thanking me now, it’s a pleasure to help you out.

Other things you should know:

1) There is a Michael Kors look-alike who works out next to me at the gym. When we’re both on the treadmill, I like to picture him berating me the way he does the designers on Project Runway. “I’ve seen mannequins that work harder….is that your best effort?…..pathetic, just pathetic….I’m appalled, I really am.” I have no idea why this amuses me so much.

2) Actually, that’s it. I need to go to bed.

Nighty-night chickadees!  Remember Alice Cooper!

Posted on August 30, 2011, in my weird sense of humor. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Another helpful tip for happy-fun-time success: Marilyn Manson is ALSO not a girl.

  2. Oh, so sad when people don’t know who Alice Cooper is! I’ll admit it, I’m a youngen by some of his fans’ age, (born in the late 70’s), but come on, that’s like not knowing who Led Zepplin is! Oh wait, I know a guy who thought Steve Miller Band sang Stairway to Heaven. *facepalm*

    Time for some people to start listening to the House of Hair radio show with Dee Snider! He’ll play some Alice and then kick your ass for not knowing who he is!

    Keep kicking ass, Alice. You’re so much cooler than that blond bimbo who fell down a freaking rabbit hole!

  3. Feed My Frankenstein was my kids’ favourite song for a while…

    • Sadly, the Hubs got to the kids before I did and infected them with his love of the Eagles, Genesis and Metallica. Now when they monopolize the radio in the car, I have to pretend I don’t know them.

  4. Andi, please don’t disown me. I’m not very familiar with Alice Cooper.

    Hello? Hello? Can we still be friends???

  5. Rock PSA, right on!

    So what does that M.Kors doppelgänger WEAR on the treadmill? I’m guessing it at least involves a black t-shirt.

  6. I love Alice, have been listening to him since the 6th grade. ~ maybe thats why I am so odd~ I have a whole Youtube playlist dedicated to him.

    Rock on Lazy!

Leave a Reply

