Itty Bitty Titty Committee

There are rare occasions when I’m glad I’m less endowed than my dress form. Fitting Butterick 6085 is one of them. I wouldn’t be able to close the front if I wasn’t teeny tiny in that area. Honestly, this blouse has a lot of fit issues and I’ll be glad when it’s done — mostly so I can move on to something that’s easier.

The weirdest issue, to me, is that I cut a size smaller than my usual size and the shoulders are still a bit big. Friends, I am extremely broad shouldered. I would have to cut an 8 in the shoulders, graduating to a 10 in the bustline and a 12 in the waist/hips to get this pattern to fit correctly. That’s in addition to the one inch I had to add in length. I’m most likely going to add this pattern to the “drafted by chimpanzees” pile.

The sewing room move continues slowly but surely. In order to give the Hubs back the closet in his office, I had to move my wovens into my closet. The end result is that I have as many “garments in potentia” as I do actual clothes.

Really, it's a bit ridiculous.

I’m thinking I need to go on a stash diet. Between the above wovens and the knits and silkies (stored in boxes), I have enough wardrobe for three people. I could do an entire punk fashion line. I could outfit People of Walmart. It’s a bit excessive, is what I’m saying. Also, I’m out of storage space.

The blog will be quiet tomorrow as I’m taking the entire kit and caboodle to the County Fair. Frightening foods will be consumed, wild rides will be experienced, at least one childhood trauma will take place and Jerry Seinfeld’s quote, “There is no such thing as fun for the WHOLE family,” will be proven incorrect. Y’all have been warned.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in my weird sense of humor, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. OMG the Fair! Eat EVERYTHING fried!

  2. What will you wear to eat too much funnel cake?

  3. I am LOVING the daintiness of that print. I can call it that, right? Even if the colors are bold.

    Looking forward to this “fun for the whole family” business from this week.

Leave a Reply

