Moving On Up….To the East Side….

Well, we’ve done our second sewing room relocation in the last six months. Previously, we moved my sewing stuff from the corner of the master bedroom to the Hub’s office downstairs. The reasoning was that we could share the office, and my stuff would be out of everyone’s hair. Unfortunately for that theory, the Hubs then switched jobs and his current work is keeping him at home a lot more. Where he really needs a quiet office with a door that can be closed, for things like conference calls. So our upstairs loft — previously the playroom — became the new sewing nook. The computer, video game unit and board games were relocated to the front room, where the shorties can make a ruckus away from the rest of us.

I. Hate. Moving. However much of an improvement it’s supposed to be.

Here’s what I’ve gotten done so far:

Yes, the carpet really does look that horrific.  The Hubs vacuumed but at this point, I’m thinking an exorcism would be more in order.  On the plus side, I’ve now got two full walls to put stuff against instead of one and a half!

Saturday, I took my MIL out to the Fabric District in L.A.  This here is the damage:

I think we made 4 trips back to the car with all this.

My favorite:

It’s a wildly improbable Japanese manga-themed slinky knit.  I’m thinking sexy lingerie.

Lest you assume I’ve been using all this as an excuse not to sew, here’s what I’m working on:

This is the first button-down blouse I’ve ever attempted, and I’m already regretting choosing a pattern with no darts.  The shaping is a bit wonky, although I think it’s less so on me than on the mannequin.  We’ll see how it works out.  It’s an older Butterick, I’ll have to look up the number later.

I’ll be more exciting later this week, once the dust settles.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That room has so much light- it’ll be great! Are those sharks on the top blue fabric? Very special!

    • What you can’t see is there are also outlines of skulls on top of the sharks. It’s pretty awesome fabric — I think it’s a kind of microfiber, the stuff they make board shorts from.

      The lighting situation upstairs is vastly improved, I’ll give you that. At the moment, I only have the one lamp and I haven’t used it yet.

  2. God DAMN I want that manga fabric. I would totally make a cheongsham sheath dress. This is why everybody raves about the LA garment district, dammit.

    … Oh, the new sewing room looks good, but I feel you on the moving.

Leave a Reply

