Boring, Like Mondrian

When I was in college, I got a letter during a semester break from my then-boyfriend who had decided to spend his break painting his bathroom. He said he was inspired by Mondrian to paint it white, then added, “Boring — like Mondrian…,” which now makes me giggle like mad whenever Mondrian comes up in polite conversation (note: almost never, unless you’re an art historian).


This is a Piet Mondrian painting, just in case you need a point of reference. It’s pretty typical of his work.

Anyway, this is my long winded way of saying the New Look 6875 pants turned out fine. Not great, not terrible, fine. I did have to take about 2 inches off the front waistband and taper to .75 of an inch at the back in order to accommodate my long crotch/swayback issues, but that was easy enough. I also had to hack about 2 inches off the hems to make the mid-calf length they show on the pattern cover. But most importantly, they are comfortable and fit nicely for pajama pants and the fabric didn’t give me too many headaches. It was actually harder to take a good picture of dark gray/black zebra printed pants in my inadequately lit bathroom.

This was the best photo of the bunch.

Anyhow, I feel virtuous for using up stash fabric, correcting the fit issues and actually getting my hems to be somewhat even. Virtue, like Mondrian, is also boring. SO. Time for something completely different….

Posted on August 3, 2011, in sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Virtue is NOT boring. Only if you have all of the virtues are you boring. And I like the pants. Don’t like the painting, though. It kind of looks like Google. Just sayin’.

    • I think it looks like the logo for Microsoft Windows, myself. Although the painting predates Bill Gates, so maybe it’s that the logo looks like the painting.

      I had to look up the virtues. Fortunately, I only have three of them. I’m not telling you which three.

  2. I was thinking Partridge Family bus actually…..

Leave a Reply

