McCall 6328, View F — Finished!

Guys, I finished these shorts and they are AWESOME.  I did a deep hem rather than roll cuffs and two buttons for a closure instead of two hook and eyes (I extended the waistband a bit so there would be enough room).  Am I the only person who can’t stand all the pattern instructions that call for hooks and eyes when buttons would be better?  GAH.  You really don’t see that many trouser hooks on RTW.  Anyway, TA-DA!

A bit overexposed, but I wanted to show off the detail and that's hard to do on black shorts.

I think this might be one of my favorite things I’ve made.  They’re totally practical, everyday bottoms but just what I need.  The material is a black stretch sateen from JoAnn’s; in my experience,  their stretch sateen is one of their better fabrics and it really works well in a multitude of patterns.

Urgh, I just realized everyone can see the messy bathroom.  What can I say?  It’s laundry day.  We have a baby shower tomorrow and a trip to San Francisco to pack for, so I won’t be doing Sci Fi Sunday this week.  I know I missed my Summer Playlist post yesterday, but I have a really good reason — our dear friends S and L got married!  And since they are the best couple ever, and I’m feeling completely sappy today after watching their kids and our kids dancing all night, I’m gonna post one of my favorite sappy love songs.  Hey, you’ve been warned.

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Friday Headbanging, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yep good shorts and bugger hooks and eyes, buttons every time for me too. Messy bathroom? Hah, you haven’t seen mine then. Thank GOD.

    • My bathroom is only passable because it’s big enough for the mess to spread around a bit.

      I finally figured out how to attach buttons at the right place — make the buttonhole first then mark the button position THROUGH the hole. You’d think that would be obvious, but it took me a while.

  2. Looks great! I agree, hooks and eyes irk me, especially for everyday kinds of things. It’s not exactly hard to make buttons look attractive.

    …unless the buttonholes are giving me fits, anyway…

    • Ha, my current conundrum is how to cut buttonholes without cutting a few stitches. I always manage to slash through a few then I do hand stitches to reattach them, but it would be nice to be able to avoid that.

      I can see hooks and eyes for really thick material, where buttons would be difficult to attach or the material is too thick to make a proper buttonhole. Or for really dressy pants where buttons would look too casual (but then they have fancy buttons too…).

  3. Just FYI — you have inspired me to believe I can sew as well. This may (okay, will) end in tears and possibly a frantic email or several. Chuckweasel says thank you in advance!

    • Er, you’re welcome? Since I put you up to this, I promise I will answer all the questions I can!

      Oh, and crying is part of the sewing process. All good sewists end up crying over their work, just as all good novelists accumulate rejection slips. All part of the process. Or that’s what I tell myself.

  4. Are they any tighter on the leg? I see you are wearing yours a bit looser as the waistband is a couple of inches below your waist and I think the pattern has it just above the natural waistline. I’m concerned these might still be a bit short if I wear them on the waistline!
    Yours look really neat by the way.

  1. Pingback: McCall 6566 Fail, and a Me-Made-May Catch Up! « lazysubculturalgirl

Leave a Reply

