Because I Can’t Do Anything Normal

After the frustration of wrestling with my horror movie skirt, I decided to do something boring and easy. I decided to repair my jeans.

These are the two holes in my jeans.

 

I do, in fact, know how to fix clothing holes so they are inconspicuous. However, every Subcultural Girl (let’s hear a holla from my peeps!) knows that no matter how lazy she is, inconspicuous she will never be. So I opted to put on a patch. I attached it with Steam-a-Seam II then blanket stitched around and backstitched next to the blanket stitch to make it really secure.

 

 

Ta-da! Ignore the shirt wrinkles, please. I was just delighted because it matches.

 

 

 

 

 

Now my boring, knock around jeans are my fabulous knock around jeans. Infinitely better.

 

 

And since Psycho Sue was asking, here’s my pics in profile so you can see the fitting issues I was whining about:

I am not sticking my butt out in this shot, that's what it looks like when I stand up straight. Baby got back, seriously.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And for some additional perspective, here’s a shot from the front:

Wow. I don't think I'm actually that knock-kneed.

 

 

 

 

 

That indent in my side?  Is not my waist. That’s the bottom of my rib cage, about 3 inches above my bellybutton. After that, it’s an almost straight-down slope until the top of my thigh. A-lines are my friend, but I would like to branch out a bit.

 

While I was Googling “fitting a straight skirt” earlier, I came across the idea of a hip block.


Ok, not that kind of hip block. Although it looks like more fun, doesn’t it?

A hip block is apparently a pattern — like a sloper, I guess — that gives the correct waist, hip and upper thigh ratio. Once you have your hip block, you’re supposed to compare it to a pattern and be able to make any necessary changes before you sew. Anyone ever used one?

Posted on June 30, 2011, in sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. girl, seriously, baby got back. =)

    and yes, totally fabulous!!

  2. Fun! Is that hand stitching you used on the patch?

    My waist is pretty much at the bottom of my rib-cage, too. Which is only an inch or two above my bellybutton, but that’s the whole short waist thing. 😛

    • Yep, used hand stitching with embroidery floss to match the colors. I would have run it through the machine, but the leg was too narrow to behave even with the sleeve adaptation on my machine.

      I always used to be befuddled by fitting instructions that ask me to measure my waist at my narrowest part. Dude, that’s so not my waist! I now pay a lot more attention to the finished hip measurements than anything else when determining size.

Leave a Reply

