500 Channels and Nothing On — Except New Look 6083

We had Direct TV at our house yesterday.  That resulted in 3 hours of people futzing around with electronics, and given that we have two TVs and the cable stuff connects through our master bedroom closet (no, I don’t know why either) that meant 3 hours of strange people tromping about in my space.

Lila and I were not happy.  We hid in the sewing room while I cut out patterns.  The results = muslins cut out for McCall 3731 and New Look 6030.  Plus, patterns cut for several shorts and/or pants.  I guess I should hide there more often, I certainly get a lot done.  The TV results = a lot more channels, most of which I still don’t want to watch.  Yay?

I did put in a hem finally for the skirt I made from New Look 6083.  It came out really well, and I think it might become a TNT pattern if I can fix the wonky hip issues (which I still think might be due to bad fabric choice).  Here it is:

New Look 6083, view E. Sorry the pic is so dark.

The button looks way more “off” than it actually is.  I might need to move it over a bit, but the waistband shifts a lot.  I did mention the ridiculously stretchy denim, right?  The ripples between the waistband and the pocket are the part that bothers me, but I think they can be fixed by using non-stretchy fabric, and/or changing the pockets to make them higher.

The T-shirt says, “Betty White.  Working hard for 88 years!”  Because Betty White is AWESOMESAUCE.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wonder if some kind of stay tape in the side seam could help with that rippliness there? It certainly doesn’t look like it’s too tight overall. Nice skirt! 🙂

    • I think you’re right, although at this point I’m done with this skirt and not going to fiddle with it anymore. My t-shirts usually end around that spot anyway and camouflage it. I’ll definitely keep it in mind for the next go-round, though. I do think a firmer fabric will help somewhat.

Leave a Reply

