Sci Fi Sunday

Currently watching:  the eleventh Doctor

When the BBC’s Doctor Who was briefly added to the SyFy lineup a couple of years ago, I instantly fell in love with the ninth doctor, Christopher Eccleston. His quirky personality was a delightful fit with the reincarnation of the venerable Doctor Who series. Billie Piper, acting the part of a working-class London girl named Rose, was pitch perfect as his down-to-earth human friend. When Eccleston was traded for David Tennant, the tenth Doctor, I was not sure I could learn to love another. However, like Rose, I grew to accept the different face of the same Doctor. When Piper left the show, I felt like the heart had gone out of it and so I stopped watching.  I heard through the grapevine that Matt Smith had become the eleventh Doctor, but could not bring myself to care.

BUT.  This weekend, for lack of anything else to do, I tuned in to a Doctor Who marathon on the BBC.  And slowly but surely, the eleventh Doctor and his friends Amy and Rory won me over.  After all, one can always use a visit from the Doctor.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Sci-Fi Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Perfect way to spend a long weekend!

Leave a Reply

