Muslin Monday – Vulgar clown pants!

Yes, I took this picture standing on my bathtub edge. I live dangerously.

In the spirit of getting ready for the MPB (male pattern boldness for the uninitiated) Jeans Sew-Along, I decided to do a muslin of my jeans pattern.  The results were….sobering.  First of all, I wanted a straight leg design but my chosen pattern, M5392, is much closer to a skinny leg.  I like the top part of the pattern and think it would be easy to modify, since I already know I will need to take out some length in the front rise and add some to my swayback/bubble butt.  However, getting the shape I want would mean lengthening the leg and changing the leg line of the pattern overall.  It might be easier to start with another pattern (I do have other patterns that might work).  One of the challenges of making jeans is that there is no straight waistband created anywhere that will lay flat on my proportions — even this pattern has a waistband that is relatively straight in the back and I already know it won’t fit.  It doesn’t even fit well on the pattern — I took one inch out of the yoke and sewed the side seams at 3/4″ and the waistband is still too short.  I’m pretty sure there’s a drafting error somewhere.

Pretty nice side view. That back gap is ALL waistband -- you can also see where I need to do a full seat adjustment.

So to sum up the alterations from top to bottom:  frankenstein waistband from another pattern, shorten front rise, lengthen back rise with full seat adjustment, redraw bizarre hip curve, straighten leg and add material in calf area, lengthen leg.  Too much?  I could stick with the skinny silhouette although it’s not my best look.  I might try another muslin this week of my OTHER jeans pattern (it’s one of the two McCall’s Palmer/Pletsch patterns, although I can’t remember which one) just to see the difference.  What do you guys think I should do?

Also, the gal who suggested this might be a wearable muslin?  I salute your bravery.  I also want some of whatever you’re on, because that is the only way I could ignore these suggestive swirls all over certain parts of my anatomy.  I’m pretty sure even clowns aren’t allowed to wear something this loud.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in MPB Jeans Sew-Along, sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hehe. I would totally wear jeans with that print. They would have to be much tighter, though.

    Yes, I may have questionable taste. 😉

    I don’t blame you for changing out your pattern, though—the fit on these is not right and the shape overall isn’t what you’re looking for anyway 🙂

  2. Also, jeans without a contour waistband are a joke. I don’t think I’ve owned jeans with a straight waistband since the 90s.

Leave a Reply

